Denver Post Staff Writer
Voters in November likely will have the chance to make Denver the first major city in the country to legalize marijuana possession. But even if the measure passes, it is unlikely Denverites will be able to smoke scot- free.
The City Council Safety Committee, given petitions with signatures of 10 percent of Denver voters, recommended Wednesday putting the marijuana initiative on the ballot.
The measure, being sought by a group that has tried to get penalties for marijuana use eased on two Colorado college campuses, would amend city ordinances to legalize possession of less than 1 ounce of marijuana for people at least 21 years old.
But even if voters approved the change, state laws against marijuana use still would be applicable and Denver police still would enforce those laws, Assistant City Attorney David Broadwell said Wednesday. State law classifies marijuana possession of less than an ounce as a Class 2 petty offense, punishable by a fine of up to $100.
A fine of up to $100? And they're complaining? The average sentence for 2nd offence pot possession in Alabama is 6 years in prison. This could include a seed in your couch or a stem in your carpet.